The list of things I’ve been told to watch

I got a new Netflix account. It’s my very own–I’m not borrowing from a friend of a friend and I’m not secretly using an ex-girlfriend’s anymore! I’m an adult.

This is also a rite of passage into pop culture. I’ve honestly been very underexposed to TV and movies since I started high school, which was like ten years ago. I’m a decade behind.

It’s a running joke with some of my friends that they ask me “Have you seen–” and before they finish their sentence, I say “No.” It’s a very safe bet. I’ve honestly seen maybe 20 movies in the last decade, and that’s probably generous. I don’t even know how many movies other people watch normally, but I feel VERY out of the loop.

It’s the same with TV shows. I watched the first season of True Detective because I thought it would get me laid (it didn’t), and I’ve seen the series Broad City a good amount of times. End of list.

So I asked my loyal Facebook friends who haven’t unfollowed me yet: what should I watch?

Here is the list they came up with, in no particular order:

  • The Good Dinosaur
  • Balto!
  • Zootopia
  • In the Loop
  • 13th
  • Spotlight
  • Fruitvale Station
  • Moonrise Kingdom
  • Boyhood
  • Samsara
  • Life Is Beautiful
  • World’s Greatest Dad
  • The Fundamentals of Crying
  • Waking Life
  • Stardust
  • Shameless
  • Rectify
  • Homeland
  • North by Northwest
  • Murdoch Mysteries
  • Triplets of Belleville
  • Coffee and Cigarettes
  • Easy Rider
  • Down by Law
  • Chinatown
  • Jiro Dreams of Sushi
  • Basquiat
  • The Ninth Gate
  • Pi
  • Time Force
  • Power Rangers RPM
  • Across the Universe
  • Amelie
  • I Know That Voice
  • Charlie Countryman
  • Dear Zachary
  • Trainspotting
  • Cloudburst
  • Grace and Frankie
  • Cloud Atlas
  • Seeking a Friend for the End of the World

I haven’t googled all of them yet, but I might weed some out in the event I find that they are scary or even a “thriller” since I cannot handle suspense of any kind.

I don’t know for sure what to do with this list, but maybe I’ll do reviews or something. Would that be boring? I don’t know, honestly. But we will see I guess! 🙂 Thanks to those who participated. Let me know if you think of any others. (I’ve seriously seen nothing, so don’t hold back).

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

